An Interview with Photographer Alina Rusu

Alina title

I received an email from a reader recently who wanted to know about the photographer for Artistic License.

alina1Emerian,

I am still completely floored that the cover of Artistic License started as a photo. The girl in the picture looks painted. I’d like to know about the photographer for this piece. Where does she get her inspiration and how did she get involved in this cover?

Love,
Jemma

Well, Jemma, as you requested, here is an interview with the photographer involved in Artistic License’s cover, Alina Rusu.

Alina lives in Bucharest, Romania and gets her inspiration from locations, books, movies, and the models she meets. She got involved with the AL cover through her long-time friend, Carmen Masloski, the cover artist. Here is a little bit more about Alina and her photography.

Emerian: Where did you grow up?

Alina: I grew up in a small city called Roman and my childhood was the most beautiful part in my life. I remember it like it was yesterday. Unfortunately, my grandparents took care of me when I was little because my mother worked in another country and I’ve never met my father.

alina2Emerian: How did you know you wanted to be a photographer?

Alina: I didn’t know that I wanted to be a photographer. I just became one. I started to take photos when I was 12-13 years old, and then I discovered Photoshop.

Emerian: What inspires you to create?

Alina: Sometimes I walk the streets and I see a beautiful location and I imagine how it would be if I take some photos there. Sometimes I seek inspiration from books or films.

Emerian: What is your favorite thing to photograph?

Alina: My favorite type of photography is portrait or fashion photography, so my favorite things to photograph are people. Mostly friends of mine. But I also like to capture flowers, bugs, or some landscapes. Inspiration can also come with how the model looks. If I see a model, I just capture her in my mind and think how the best way to shoot her will be.

Emerian: What was your most exciting photoshoot?

Alina: Almost two years ago when I captured Alexandra (Artistic License cover model) in sand. I am very content with those pictures, even today. We worked very hard together to make art and I really thank Alexandra for that. She is my favorite, and she knows it.

Emerian: What is your favorite time of day? 

Alina: The golden hour because I have enough light to take photos with a lovely light. Too bad it doesn’t last more than an hour.

Emerian: Do you have a favorite artist or piece of artwork?

Alina: Personally, I am not a fan of nudes but some of them are really masterpieces and some pictures send us feelings that we can’t explain.

alina3

Emerian: If you could do a shoot anywhere, where would it be?

Alina: I would pick Japan in the spring, because they have amazing trees and lovely gardens. I am stunned of the beauty of Japan.

Emerian: What sort of books do you enjoy?

Alina: Definitely romance but I like fantasy books too.

To find out more about Alina, or see her other pictures, go to her Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

