An Interview with Cover Artist, Masloski Carmen

Cover by Masloski Carmen

Cover by Masloski Carmen

Cover artist for Artistic License, Masloski Carmen, lives in Romania. her parents taught her how to respect and value things, and gave her the freedom to choose her own path.

I discovered Masloski’s work when I was looking for a cover for my book on DeviantArt.com. I was beginning to lose hope. I couldn’t find anything that really spoke to the blending of romance and  magical art that I wanted. Just as I was about to give up, I found Masloski’s Poison which spoke to me in a way I can’t explain.

Although Poison was a great piece of artwork, I wanted to incorporate my lead character and some other elements into the cover that would draw the reader in. Masloski was awesome to work with. She came up with the basis of the cover, combining the image of Alexandra with some horror and art elements I asked for.

Now, you get to find out a little more about Masloski, her art, and what kind of art she enjoys.

Emerian: What is your favorite thing about your country?

Masloski: I really enjoy some parts of Romanian Folklore. I like some regional music, ancient winter games, clothes, legends/stories/myths, and dances.

Emerian: What was your childhood like?

wickedslargeFRONTCOVER

Cover by Masloski Carmen

Masloski: I was one of those kids full of energy, spending their entire time playing outside and drawing when bored.

Emerian: How did you know you wanted to be an artist?

Masloski: When I drew on my parents’ furniture. The drawings are still there!

Emerian: What is your earliest memory of art that touched you?

Masloski: It wasn’t a specific piece. I was really impressed by some people’s ability to draw things so perfectly, fast, and beautiful.

Emerian: What inspires you to create?

Masloski: Critical situations and stressful moments. Of course, there’s always my music, old engravings, baroque and rococo times, myths,  psychological movies like mind-twisters, circus elements, and the contrast between things (ie: horror-cute, cold-hot, dark-bright and so on).

Emerian: What is your favorite thing to draw?

Masloski: Mixed things mostly. Animals with human bodies, dolls, hybrids, religion-themes, circus themes, and musical elements.

Emerian: What is your favorite piece of art that you have done?

symdeath

Symphony of Death by Masloski Carmen

Masloski: Symphony of Death

Emerian: How did you get involved in the Artistic License project?

Masloski: I was really lucky that you found me on DeviantArt.com and asked me to collaborate with another project, The Wickeds.

Emerian: What was the inspiration behind the cover?

Masloski: The text you sent me to get familiar with the story, mixed with my dark-fantasy style back in those days.

Emerian: What is your favorite time of day?

Masloski: Between 1 – 4 a.m. I get my ideas in that time of the day and I even work during those hours.

Emerian: What are your favorite books to read?

Masloski: Short horror stories (something similar with creepy-pasta stories), history, and psychological books.

we_smile_when_she_cries_by_mskycarmen-d31d1bs

We Smile When She Cries by Masloski Carmen

Emerian: Do you have a favorite artist or piece of artwork?

Masloski: I have some favorite artists like Francisco Goya, Zdzislaw Beksinski, Paul Kuczynsky, Bastet2329 (one of my best resources and inspirational artist), and Jenny Marie (“Autonoe” from DeviantArt).

Emerian: Where can the readers find out more about you?

Masloski: People can find me on DeviantArt.com at http://mskycarmen.deviantart.com/

One response to “An Interview with Cover Artist, Masloski Carmen

Leave a Reply

