An Interview with Musician, Destini Beard

086Destini Beard is a beautiful songbird whose music connects with the darkest part of your soul. She started her musical career in high school, and became one of the youngest singers to join the world renowned Susquehanna Valley Chorale. She is the lead vocalist for Midnight Syndicate and is currently working on a new album.

Edward Douglas from Midnight Syndicate says, “Destini is a tremendously talented artist and I’ve really enjoyed our collaborations together. She comes from a talented family. Her mother sang professionally and her father is one of the most talented fantasy artists I’ve ever met. Like them, she has that mix of talent, entrepreneurial spirit, and the all-important drive which is so important in the entertainment business. On A Time Forgotten, Destini has a song called “My Last Goodbye” that she not only wrote all of the music for but also performed the vocals (and piano!) on. The first time I heard it, I was blown away. With that song, I think we got a short glimpse of what it is to come from Destini and I for one, am very excited to hear what’s next!”

When I first heard her album, A Time Forgotten, I knew “The Hidden Key” would convey the mood I wanted for the Artistic License podnovel. Destini’s haunting melodies and Midnight Syndicate’s theatrical accompaniment, transport me into a opera box in the early 1900’s, hairs standing on end as the vocals rise and fall. I am thrilled Destini agreed to the collaboration and asked her a few questions to get better acquainted with her and find out her motivation when creating such moving music.

Did you always want to be a singer?

Absolutely! I grew up in a world of art, music, and fantasy. Music was always a part of me ever since I could remember, and I knew that one day I would follow my dream of pursuing music. It takes a lot of work and confidence, and I am so grateful for my family, friends, and fans for continuing to support me through this fantastic journey in my life!

You have a hauntingly beautiful voice. What singers influenced you as a child?

Thank you so much! The biggest influence was my mom. She is an absolutely amazing singer and I hoped to be like her when I grew up. I also loved listening to Enya, Loreena McKennitt, and when I was a teenager, Amy Lee who is my muse. I fell in love with her voice and her music. I would have to say my two biggest influences are my mom and Amy Lee.

edited3What is the first song you remember performing?

The first time I ever performed a song was my fifth grade musical performance of “How The West Was Won”. I was 10 years old and played the part of a little Indian girl (I kind of looked like a mini Pocahontas!) I remember the feeling of being on a stage with a microphone. It was so surreal, and I will never forget that.

What inspires you?

Music, people, nature, and books. Anything gothic and hauntingly romantic inspires me the most. Whenever I want to fuel my creativity, I usually listen to my favorite bands like Evanescence and Kamelot, or watch my favorite movie, Phantom of the Opera. I am always instantly inspired.

Tell me about the theme song for Artistic License, “The Hidden Key”. Who wrote it and what is it about?

DestiniATimeForgottenCoverI wrote the lyrics for the song “The Hidden Key” It ties into the storyline for the rest of the album, A Time Forgotten. The story takes place in a turn-of-the-century hotel which catches fire, but the spirits of the residents are trapped within the hotel walls by an evil entity. The main character, who I play, goes back in time to try and rescue the spirits. In the song “The Hidden Key”, the main character is approached by the spirit of a little girl, who leads her further into the hotel, leading her to the final clue or “Key” that will reveal who the evil presence is and how she can free the trapped spirits once and for all.


The theme of the song, then, is perfect for Artistic License, since Leslie is essentially unlocking the doorway in her house between her world and Ashton’s. Her “key” just happens to be her gift of painting. Tell me about your albums, where do they come from?

When I did my first album The Dark Masquerade I wrote about two of my favorite things, vampires and masquerade balls. When I wrote my latest album A Time Forgotten I wanted to write about my other love in the world of gothic fantasy, which is the paranormal and Victorian times, which was the theme I was trying to convey. My favorite track is a tie between “Endgame” and “Lonely Waltz”. I loved writing both of those the most!

How did you and Midnight Syndicate connect?

I met Midnight Syndicate at a gaming convention in Columbus Ohio in 2009 and that was when I pitched them the idea of having a vocalist for their work. I listened to their music a lot growing up, and wanted to try and see if I could work with them someday. It was a great experience! It helped me begin my career in music, and Gothic soundtracks are my favorite!

What’s your favorite horror movie?

Hmm…there are so many good ones! I have to say my favorite to date is The Woman in Black. It reminds me of the classical horror movies. I like it a lot too because it has a Victorian theme, which also inspired me in the writing process of A Time Forgotten.

I love The Woman in Black as well. It does such a great job of telling a really haunting story in a romantic way. What’s your favorite romantic tale?

Phantom of the Opera, without hesitation is my absolute favorite romantic tale! It’s a tragic, heartbreaking love story, but aren’t those the best kind? I felt such a connection to Phantom. I have plans on making an album with a Phantom sort of theme in the future!

We are part of the same soul! Phantom has always spoken to me as well. I am working on a modern-day Phantom rewrite. I was always more enamored by Phantom than Raoul. I can’t wait to hear the music you create with Phantom as your inspiration. Do you have a favorite author? What genre do you read?

Hmm another tough question…I would have to say currently Melissa De La Cruz. She wrote the Blue Bloods novels. The whole series is based off of vampires, angels, and demons. Her stories are so captivating, as soon as I pick up her books, I have such a hard time putting them back down! My favorite genre is fantasy, I love being swept into another realm and world!

edited5Yes, Melissa did such a great job of mixing modern teen concerns with an underground old-world flavor. Do you have a favorite artist or piece of art?

My dad, Ed Beard, Jr., is my favorite artist. His work is a huge part of my life, he painted both of my album covers. I grew up watching him paint almost every one of his pieces. He is so inspiring to me with his love and dedication to his craft! My favorite painting is his Racing With Dolphins.

It’s so nice to have an inspiring home life growing up. So, what are you working on next?

I am in the process of writing and recording my first solo Celtic album. I’m going to incorporate my haunting style, so it will be a “Dark Celtic”. I’ll be going into the studio this summer, I am so excited!

Oh! Can’t wait to hear it. Now, my readers are all over the world. Where might they see you in concert or where can they find your work online?

They can visit my website or Facebook and can check out my YouTube Channel

www.destinibeard.com

www.facebook.com/destinibeardmusic

www.youtube.com/user/destini91

Anything else to say to the readers?

Do what you love, and never give up on your dreams and your passions. Follow your heart and pursue what you love, and always try and inspire others. Never give up on what you love!

Thank you, Destini for allowing us to share in your awesome musical gift!

2 responses to “An Interview with Musician, Destini Beard

Leave a Reply

